Page 2 of 5

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:56 am
by max
Hi is it true that http://noip.com will delete your hostname after 30 days with no usage ?

It happen to me :(

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:04 am
by Kev
You'll receive an email address asking you to validate you're still using it. As long as you validate every month, you can keep it for free.

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 3:41 am
by max
Kev wrote:You'll receive an email address asking you to validate you're still using it. As long as you validate every month, you can keep it for free.
That is true but what if your not by your pc ? I don't use my phone for email.

How long do you have until you can validate ?

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:18 am
by f3bruary
You can also download the no-ip update client for your pc. This application will automatically update the ip address and afaik you won't need to validate manually anymore

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 1:28 pm
by lordjynx
Off topic slightly but I use afraid.org now with dnsomatic zero issues so far.

LJ

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:27 pm
by Magic815
Kev - I'm having a problem with creating a dynamic dns address

When I try to create a host over at http://noip.com, it won't let me delete the IP address field. It's auto-filled in. Your instructions say to keep it blank, but I don't see how that's possible.

Could you advise?

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:39 pm
by f3bruary
Magic815 wrote:Kev - I'm having a problem with creating a dynamic dns address

When I try to create a host over at http://noip.com, it won't let me delete the IP address field. It's auto-filled in. Your instructions say to keep it blank, but I don't see how that's possible.

Could you advise?
Just keep it like that. It should point to the server ip. If it doesn't, set it up anyways and then use the update client to refresh the ip.

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:46 pm
by max
f3bruary wrote:You can also download the no-ip update client for your pc. This application will automatically update the ip address and afaik you won't need to validate manually anymore
I did that but it doesn't seem to work :( I still got to validate manually ever month :(

I run it as a service in the background because there that option in the program.

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:49 pm
by f3bruary
max wrote:
f3bruary wrote:You can also download the no-ip update client for your pc. This application will automatically update the ip address and afaik you won't need to validate manually anymore
I did that but it doesn't seem to work :( I still got to validate manually ever month :(

I run it as a service in the background because there that option in the program.
I actually have the same issue. I think it only counts if the IP actually changes, but I'm not sure. I bought a domain recently and it supports ddns, so I don't need no-ip anymore...

Re: Tutorial: Set up remote access to NZB 360.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:02 pm
by max
f3bruary wrote:
max wrote:
f3bruary wrote:You can also download the no-ip update client for your pc. This application will automatically update the ip address and afaik you won't need to validate manually anymore
I did that but it doesn't seem to work :( I still got to validate manually ever month :(

I run it as a service in the background because there that option in the program.
I actually have the same issue. I think it only counts if the IP actually changes, but I'm not sure. I bought a domain recently and it supports ddns, so I don't need no-ip anymore...
Where did you buy a domain ?